How is the Australian Government Formed?

After a federal election, the Australian Government is generally formed by the party or coalition of parties with the majority of members in the Houses of Representatives. The leader of this party becomes the leader of the Australian Government: the Prime Minister.

After a federal election, the party or coalition of parties with the second largest number of members in the House of Representatives forms the Opposition. Its leader is called the Leader of the Opposition.

The Prime Minister recommends members of the House of Representatives or Senators to become ministers in the Australian Government. The Governor-General approves the appointment of the Prime Minister and ministers.

Government ministers are responsible for an area of government (called a portfolio), such as employment, Indigenous Affairs or the Treasury. Ministers with the most important portfolios make up the Cabinet, which is the key decision making body of government.

Share on Social Media

Part 1 - Australia and its people

» Australia's states and territories
» Important days for Australians
» Australia's flags and symbols

Part 2 - Australia's democratic beliefs, rights and liberties

» Our democratic beliefs
» Our freedoms
» Our equalities
» Responsibilities and privileges of Australian citizenship
» Participating in Australian society

Part 3 - Government and the law in Australia

» How do I have my say?
» How did we establish our system of government?
» How is the power of government controlled?
» Who is Australia's Head of State?
» Who are some of Australia's leaders?
» How is Australia Governed?
» What do the three levels of government do?
» What role do political parties play in the way Australia is governed?
» How is the Australian Government formed?
» How are laws made?
» How are laws enforced?
» Criminal offences in Australia

Part 4 - Australian values

» Our values
» Our community

Glossary of testable section