Australia's Flags

The Australian National Flag is the official flag of our nation. Other flags that are officially recognised and may be flown in the community include the Australian Aboriginal Flag and the Torres Strait Islander Flag.

Each state and territory also has its own flag, which can be viewed on page 11.

The Australian National Flag

The Australian National Flag is blue, white and red.

• The ‘Union Jack’, which is the flag of the United Kingdom is in the top left corner. It represents our history of British settlement and the laws and institutions we inherited as a result.

• The Commonwealth Star is under the Union Jack. This star has seven points, each point representing one of the six states and one point for the territories.

• The Southern Cross, on the right, is a group of stars that can be seen in the southern sky.

The Australian Aboriginal Flag

The Australian Aboriginal Flag is black, red and yellow.

•The top half is black and represents the Aboriginal peoples of Australia.

•The bottom half is red and represents the earth, which has ceremonial significance.

•The yellow circle represents the sun.

The Torres Strait Islander Flag

The Torres Strait Islander Flag is green, blue, black and white.

• The green stripes represent the land.

• The blue panel in the centre represents the sea.

• The black lines represent the Torres Strait Islander people.

• The white dancer’s headdress in the centre is a symbol for all Torres Strait Islanders.

• The points of the white star represent the island groups in the Torres Strait, and the colour white symbolises peace.


Australia's symbols

Commonwealth Coat of Arms

The Commonwealth Coat of Arms is the official symbol of the Commonwealth of Australia. It represents our national unity. It identifies the authority and property of the Commonwealth of Australia.

• The shield in the centre represents the six states and federation.

• A kangaroo and an emu support the shield on each side. Both are native Australian animals.

• A gold Commonwealth Star sits above the shield.

• The background is the golden wattle, Australia’s national flower.

Australia's national flower

Australia’s national flower is the golden wattle. This small tree grows mainly in south-eastern Australia. It has bright green leaves and many golden yellow flowers in spring. Each of the states and territories of Australia also has its own floral emblem.

Australia's national colours

Australia’s national colours are green and gold—the colours of the golden wattle. The uniforms of our national sports teams are usually green and gold.

Australia's national gemstone

The opal is Australia’s national gemstone. According to Aboriginal legend, a rainbow touched the earth and created the colours of the opal.

Share on Social Media

Part 1 - Australia and its people

» Australia's states and territories
» Important days for Australians
» Australia's flags and symbols

Part 2 - Australia's democratic beliefs, rights and liberties

» Our democratic beliefs
» Our freedoms
» Our equalities
» Responsibilities and privileges of Australian citizenship
» Participating in Australian society

Part 3 - Government and the law in Australia

» How do I have my say?
» How did we establish our system of government?
» How is the power of government controlled?
» Who is Australia's Head of State?
» Who are some of Australia's leaders?
» How is Australia Governed?
» What do the three levels of government do?
» What role do political parties play in the way Australia is governed?
» How is the Australian Government formed?
» How are laws made?
» How are laws enforced?
» Criminal offences in Australia

Part 4 - Australian values

» Our values
» Our community

Glossary of testable section